

Derry Community Volunteer Form

Date:	
Name:	
Address:	
Derry, NH 03038	
Home Telephone:	
Business Telephone:	
E-mail Address:	

The Town of Derry welcomes any resident of the community who can assist the Town by volunteering their time to serve on any of the boards/committees/commissions which have a vital role in our town government. Typically, appointments are made by April 1st each year and additional opportunities occasionally present themselves throughout the year as citizens are unable to complete their term of office. Please mail/fax/email to:

Sheila Bodenrader, Executive Secretary to the Town Administrator, Derry Municipal Center, 14 Manning Street, Derry, NH 03038, 603-432-6131 (f); sheilabodenrader@derrynh.org.

Your Community Thanks You!

Tell us About Yourself!

Education/Interest/Experience

Please detail your areas of special interest, experience and/or education:

Skills/Expertise

Please indicate any special skills or expertise that you would consider volunteering to the Town:

Employer/Position

To ensure that conflicts do not arise, please list your current employer and your position with that employer.

Please attached a resume, if available

Volunteer Opportunities All appointments are made by the Town Council

Building and Property Maintenance Committee - Consists of 3 regular members appointed for 1-year term, working with staff to discuss property maintenance issues and blighted properties and strategies. The Committee meets quarterly on the 3rd Tuesday of January, April, July and October.

Conservation Commission – Consists of 7 regular and 4 alternate members appointed for a 3-year term. The Commission meets the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month and is responsible for the proper stewardship, utilization and protection of the natural resources of Derry.

Derry Commerce Corridor TIF Advisory Committee – Consist of 4 regular members, appointed for a 3-year term. One member must own or occupy real property within the District. The Committee provides input on the Development Plan for the District.

Gateway TIF Advisory Committee – Consist of 4 regular members, appointed for a 3-year term. One member must own or occupy real property within the District. The Committee provides input on the Development Plan for the District.

Heritage Commission – Consists of 4 regular and 3 alternate members, appointed for a 3-year term. The Commission shall have the powers and duties of both the Heritage Commission and a Historic District Commission and is responsible for preserving Derry's past history for future generations. The Commission meets on the1st Monday of every other month.

Highway Safety Committee – Consists of 6 regular members appointed for 1 year term, working with staff to discuss safety concerns at specific locations. The Committee meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 9:00AM

Housing & Redevelopment Authority – Consists of 5 members appointed for a 5 year term. Administers US Dept. of HUD Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers and owns/manages other properties for low income/elderly/disabled residents.

Net Zero Task Force – Consists of 4 members, 2 alternates, along with 8 stakeholders who participate as representatives of town boards, civic groups or institutions. Its mission is to explore and achieve cost effective solutions for reduced energy and water use and sustainable energy development on town-controlled property, municipal buildings and vehicles, schools and the community, while developing a comprehensive plan to achieve the goal of "Net Zero" compliance by all key Stakeholders by 2025. The Task Force meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month.

Planning Board - Consists of 7 regular and 3 alternate members, appointed for a 3-year term. The Board meets on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month and has several statutory duties, including development of a Master Plan, Capital Improvements Plan, review of development plans and promoting the orderly development of the community.

Southern NH Planning Commission – Southern New Hampshire Planning Commission serves as a coordinating agency for the planning initiatives of its member communities, including Derry. The Town Council appoints 4 representatives and 1 alternate to represent Derry for a 4-year term.

Zoning Board of Adjustment – Consists of 5 regular and 5 alternate members for a 3-year term. This "Judicial Board" meets the 1st & 3rd Thursday of the month and reviews and acts upon Variances and Exceptions to the Zoning Laws & Regulations of the Town.

APPOINTMENT PREFERENCE:	MEMBERSHIP INFORMATION:
Member	Current Member
Alternate	New Member
No Preference	