DERRY FIRE DEPARTMEN



FIRE CHIEF

IAMES K. RICHARDSON 14 MANNING STREET DERRY, NH 03038 603-432-6751 DERRYNH.ORG

SHAWN M. HAGGART ASSISTANT CHIEF



Excellence through Professionalism, Integrity, and Compassion

For immediate release: Alexander Eastman Foundation Grant for A.E.D.'s

On October 3rd, 2023, the Derry Town Council Voted to accept a grant on behalf of the Fire Department from the Alexander Eastman Foundation. A check for \$3000.00 was presented by the Foundation's Chairman, David Clapp and will be utilized to purchased two Automatic External Defibrillators (A.E.D.) to support our Community AED Program.

The Community AED Program is a valuable program that will aid our community in the treatment of persons experiencing sudden cardiac arrest. The program allows members of the Town of Derry community that meet certain criteria to "check out" an automated external defibrillator for group events occurring within the Town of Derry, NH. For more information on the Community AED Program, please visit https://www.derrynh.org/firedepartment/pages/community-aed-program or contact EMS Captain, Ed King at Edking@derrynh.org.

Derry is proud to be designated as a HEARTSafe Community. HEARTSafe Communities is a program designed to promote survival from sudden out-of-hospital cardiac arrest. It is a general concept focused upon strengthening the "chain of survival" as described by the American Heart Association; it recognizes and stimulates efforts by individual communities to improve their system for preventing sudden cardiac arrest (SCA) from becoming irreversible death. In this case early recognition, activation of the emergency response system, early high-quality CPR, rapid defibrillation, advanced life support, and post-arrest care lead to a very optimal outcome.

The Alexander Eastman Foundation has supported Health and Wellness in the greater Derry area for over ninety years. For more information on community grants and the Foundation checkout aefnh.org.

Photo provided by Derry Community TV left to right: Asst. Chief Shawn Haggart, AEF Chairman David Clapp, Chief James K. Richardson.

Fire Officer Submitting Release: Assistant Chief Shawn M. Haggart

Shawn M. Haggart

Digitally signed by Shawn M. Digitary signed by Sense Haggart DN: cn=Shawn M. Haggart, c=US, o=Derry Fire , ou=Town of Derry, email=shawnhaggart@derrynh.org Date: 2023.10.10 14:40:35 -04'00'

