Boards & Committees - Vacancies


There are many volunteer opportunies available on various Boards & Committees in Town. If interested, please follow the vacancy link and submit an application by March 1, 2018.

Current Board & Committee Vacancies

Building and Property Maintenance Committee- Consists of 3 regular members appointed for 1 year term, working with staff to discuss property maintenance issues and blighted properties and strategies.

Cable Advisory Committee- Consists of 5 regular members, along with a Town Councilor and a School Board member, the Committee will assist with developing policies and procedures and review other matters related to public, educational and governmental programming. Meeting dates have not yet been established.

Conservation Comission- Consists of 7 regular and 4 alternate members , appointed for a 3 year term. The Commission meets the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month, and is responsible for the proper stewardship, utilization, and protection of the natural resources of Derry.

Economic Development Advisory Committee- Consists of 7 regular members appointed for 3 year term, and meets the 3 rd Monday of each month. The Committee assist s in creating an environment that attracts robust businesses to Derry that meet the demand of our residents and the local workforce, and inspires current and future businesses to succeed in our community of historic Main Street storefronts complimented by t he convenience of larger retailers, industry, and medical professionals.

Heritage Commission- Consists of 4 regular and 3 alternate members, appointed for a 3 year term. The Commission shall have the powers and duties of both the Heritage Commission and a Historic District Commission , and is responsible for preserving Derry's past history for future generations. The Commission meets the 1st Monday of every other month.

Highway Safety Committee- Consists of 6 regular members appointed for 1 year term, wo rking with staff to discuss safety concerns, initiatives and grant opportunities. The Committee meets on the 3 rd Thursday of each month during working hours.

Housing and Redevelopment Authority- Consists of 5 members appointed for a 5 year term. Administers US Dept. of HUD Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers and owns/manages other properties for low income/elderly/disabled residents.

Net Zero Task Force Committee- Consists of 1 public member along with 9 regular members and 3 alternate members who participate as a representative of town board, civic group or institution. Its mission is t o explore and achieve cost effective solutions for reduced energy and water use and sustainable energy development on town controlled property, municipal buildings and vehicles, schools and the community, while developing a comprehensive plan to achieve the goal of "Net Zero" compliance by all key Stakeholders by 2025 . The Committee meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month.

Planning Board- Consists of 7 regular and 3 alternate members, appointed for a 3 year term. The Board meets on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month and has several statutory duties, including development of a Master Plan, Capital Improvements Plan, review of development plans and promoting the orderly development of the community.

REDC Loan Review Committee- Consists of five members appointed for 1 year term, the Committee reviews loan requests as part of the Derry Revolving Loan Fund program of the Rockingham Economic Development Corporation.

Southen N.H. Planning Commission- Southern New Hampshire Planning Commission serves as a coordinating agency for the planning initiatives of its member communities, including Derry. The Town Council appoints four representatives and one alternate to represent Derry for 4 year term.

Zoning Board of Adjustment- Consist s of 5 regular and 5 alternate members for a 3 year term. This “Judicial Board” meets the 1st & 3rd Thursday of the month and reviews and acts upon Variances and Exceptions to the Zoning Laws & Regulations of the Town.