What is the difference between the Planning Board and the Planning Office?

The Planning Board is a 12 member board appointed by Town Council that meets the first and third Wednesday of the month. The membership is made up of 7 regular members, 3 alternates, an Administrative Representative, and a member of the Town Council. The Planning Board is charged with specific duties and responsibilities as set forth by State law. These duties include the preparation and amendment of a Master Plan, and review of subdivision and site plans. The Planning Board also prepares and recommends to the Town Council proposed zoning changes and additions/amendments to the Capital Improvement Program.

The Planning Office supports the Planning Board in its duties and is the day to day contact for the public. The Planning Office consists of the Planning Director and the Planning Assistant, who facilitate the subdivision and site plan review process.