DERRY HIGHWAY SAFETY COMMITTEE

Minutes for January 21, 2016



COMMITTEE MEMBER	PRESENT	ABSENT
Scott Savard, Chairman	X	
Walter Deyo, Co-Chair	X	
Ed Garone, Derry Police	X	
Mike Gagnon, Derry Fire Dept.	X	
Jane Simard, Derry School Dept.		X
Randall Chase		X
Daniel MacInnis	X	
Tom Landers	X	
Vacant		
Alan Côté, DPW	X	
David Kelley (School Dept Alt)	X	
George Feole (Police Alt)		
(Fire Alt)		
Mike Fowler (DPW Alt)		

A monthly meeting of the Derry Highway Safety Committee was held Thursday, January 21, 2016 at the Derry Municipal Building Center. Meeting was called to order at 9:00 am.

Approval of Minutes

Alan Cote made a motion to accept the minutes of December 17, 2015. Daniel MacInnis seconded.

Motion passed. (6 - 0 - 2) Ed Garone and Mike Gagnon abstained.

OLD BUSINESS

Nick Zaharias – Paul Ave – Radar Speed Limit Signs

Alan Cote explained the traffic study and stated that the road was posted with a 30 mph sign. Town roads have a speed limit of 35 mph unless posted in the Ordinance. Paul Ave does not have an Ordinance posting the road at a 30 mph. He felt the road should be posted at 35 mph. Alan asked Chief Garone what the guidelines were.

Ed Garone stated that the speed limit should be 30 mph if the driveways are closer than 300 feet apart.

Scott Savard felt the speed limit should remain at 30 mph.

Alan Cote went on to explain that the 85th percentile of the traffic was traveling at 43.2 mph, which is 15 mph over the speed limit and agreed it could use some attention. The 10 mile per hour/pace was 22.32, mph which was the largest percentage of the traffic.

The Committee decided that the Police Department put up a temporary radar sign or trailer to see if that would help slow that traffic down.

NEW BUSINESS		
OTHER BUSINESS		

Alan Cote made a motion to adjourn at 9:22 am. Seconded by Daniel MacInnis.

Motion Passed 6-0

Next Meeting is Thursday – February 18, 2015 Respectfully, Sharon Jensen