Discover Derry

About Derry

The Town of Derry, New Hampshire, is a municipal corporation governed by an elected seven-member Town Council. The government has operated under a Town Charter form of government since 1993. Incorporated in 1827, the Town of Derry is located in the southeastern part of the state and ranks as the fourth largest municipality in New Hampshire. The Town has a land area of 36.30 square miles and an estimated 2014 population of 33,211.

As one of New Hampshire’s leading communities, Derry is nestled in the Southeast corner of the state next to Beaver Lake. Located in Rockingham County, at the crossroads of Route 28 and 102, and with Interstate 93 seconds away, Derry is nearby many of New England’s major metros. Travel to Boston, Massachusetts in less than 45 minutes, and New Hampshire’s biggest cities: Nashua, Manchester and Concord, are all between 10 and 30 miles away.

Derry maintains several beautifully manicured parks that provide recreational programs, facilities and open space.  With playgrounds, athletic fields, tennis courts, basketball courts, a public gymnasium, two public libraries, beaches with boat launches and concession stands, three challenging and fun golf courses, a dog park and several walking trails, there are many family friendly ways to spend your free time.

For a taste of the Arts and culture of Derry,  visit the Derry Opera House or Pinkerton’s Stockbridge Theater for a variety of plays, live music, and artistic programs.